Holy Crxp, She’s Blogging! Also, World’s Best Christmas Cookies.

Oh, seriously. You all knew this day was coming — the day I got tired of thinking in soundbites and decided that only the more expansive environment of a blog would be sufficient for me to express the full spectrum of my thoughts and opinions. If you’ve found your way here, congratulations, and I’m very sorry. And if it wouldn’t be too much trouble, please tell everyone you know that they should totally visit this space. (Sorry. Apparently I’m supposed to Aggressively Promote My Brand.)

Anyway, to sweeten the deal, here is a recipe for my very favorite Christmas cookie in the world. My mother makes these; I believe (although I may be mistaken — Mom, if I’m wrong, feel free to chastise me in the comments!) that she got it from her mother-in-law, my Grandma Nagy. I got it from my Dad; he e-mailed it to me in December 1997, and I still have the print-out, torn, stained, and crumpled from years of use. I will never throw it away.

Here it is:

Spumoni Bars

Basic Dough: 1 cup butter or margarine, softened; 1.5 cups powdered sugar; 1 egg; 1 tsp vanilla; 2.5 cups flour.

Mix butter, sugar, egg, and vanilla thoroughly. Blend in flour.

Divide dough into 3 parts.

With first part, mix 2 ounces premelted (unsweetened) chocolate.

With second part, mix 1/2 cup chopped walnuts and a few drops green food coloring

With third part, mix 2 teaspoons rum flavoring and a few drops red food coloring.

Shape each part into a 16″ by 3″ rectangle. Layer, placing green dough in the center. Press together; wrap and chill for at least two hours.

Heat oven to 375. Cut dough crosswise into 1/8 inch slices. Bake on ungreased cookie sheet for 5 to 7 minutes.

Dad said that the recipe makes about 4 dozen. In my experience, it’s more like 3 dozen if you’re lucky, but then Dad probably didn’t sample as much dough as I usually do.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

